Trevões is a vineyard village located in the municipality of São João da Pesqueira, on the south bank of the Douro river. Although Trevões is located in a historically isolated region, the village has been inhabited since before the Roman invasion of the Iberian Peninsula. Between the twelfth century and the mid-nineteenth centuries, Trevões served as the county seat.
Trevões offers visitors several architectural sites of interest. Highlights include the eighteenth-century Bishop's Palace built by Bishop Manuel Pereira de Vasconcelos, the Episcopal Palace built in 1605, and the Church of Trevões, the foundations of which were laid between the twelfth and thirteenth centuries. The current church tower dates from the eighteenth century.
The Museum of Trevões, maintained by the Socio-Cultural Association of Trevões, offers visitors the opportunity to learn about the history of Trevões' customs and lifestyles.
The origin of the name Trevões remains a mystery, as the Chamber of São João da Pesqueira's website explains: "Several documents refer to the name Thunderbolt, while others use the name Trevões. Thus, several theories arose in an attempt to explain the origin and evolution of this etymological toponym. Some suggest that the original name was Thunder, due to frequent thunderstorms that took place in the region. Later, due to the large amounts of clover growing in the area, the name was changed to Trevões. [Trevo is the Portuguese word for clover] Another theory suggests the existence of an ancient pillory in the village, which displayed the shield of five leaves of clover of Travassos, a gentleman of the parish. Still others argue that Trevões is a more correct, phonetic evolution of Trevules, the name contained in certain historic documents."